PDA

View Full Version : VPS - Choosing a Service / Configuration



Daniel-Sp
11-01-2013, 08:08 PM
Hello guys,

I have found some topic here but no one was directly saying: WHO uses a VPS, what the name, how many clients it handle and how much per month it costs.

After some research, I found BoosterHosting Service (http://www.boosterhosting.com/) and I've bought the PRO package ( no stock right now) which comes with:

CPU: 2 x 3.6Ghz (i7)
RAM: 4GB DDR3 (Guaranteed)
Storage: 115 GB
Bandwidth: 100 Mbps
Traffic: Unlimited
OS: Linux / Windows


After some windows Ultimate customization I couldn't even load ONE client.. it got like 3..4 FPS.. So I gave up.

Idk if its the quality of the VPS or smth wrong I did so I would like some suggestions to recover from this problem since its a really good machine. I did the leatrix thing.. but got no succes to play.

So, I think that this topic can place a dicussion about VPS subject.

Chuitox
11-02-2013, 09:41 PM
Emma's got one

Emma
11-03-2013, 03:06 AM
Hello guys,

I have found some topic here but no one was directly saying: WHO uses a VPS, what the name, how many clients it handle and how much per month it costs.

After some research, I found BoosterHosting Service (http://www.boosterhosting.com/) and I've bought the PRO package ( no stock right now) which comes with:

CPU: 2 x 3.6Ghz (i7)
RAM: 4GB DDR3 (Guaranteed)
Storage: 115 GB
Bandwidth: 100 Mbps
Traffic: Unlimited
OS: Linux / Windows


After some windows Ultimate customization I couldn't even load ONE client.. it got like 3..4 FPS.. So I gave up.

Idk if its the quality of the VPS or smth wrong I did so I would like some suggestions to recover from this problem since its a really good machine. I did the leatrix thing.. but got no succes to play.

So, I think that this topic can place a dicussion about VPS subject.

PM me your problem, I can assist you if you want :p

PD: If you use the dedicated server/vps as it comes by default it may be impossible to use, you have to change the graphic setup on tibia etc.

Daniel-Sp
11-04-2013, 12:06 PM
Snet you a PM about my VPS video config but I will put here my problem if someone can help me..

My tibia's client configuration just have DirectX 5 .. I cant use DX9 or OpenGL.. the current framerate is between 2 and 4.

Any tip to make it better?

Theres only 1920 x 1080, 32 bits resolution option.

Eion
11-04-2013, 12:39 PM
Interesting, what graphics card is on this VPS?

Perfection
11-06-2013, 07:38 PM
Snet you a PM about my VPS video config but I will put here my problem if someone can help me..

My tibia's client configuration just have DirectX 5 .. I cant use DX9 or OpenGL.. the current framerate is between 2 and 4.

Any tip to make it better?

Theres only 1920 x 1080, 32 bits resolution option.
Try to update the drivers of your VPS's gfx card.

thenick
11-22-2013, 10:27 PM
Daniel-Sp, if u are connecting by RDP u can't open 3d applications. try by VNC or install splashtop

Boxes
02-21-2014, 05:15 PM
I'm interested in how did you solve that problem, any info? Thanks.

Daniel-Sp
02-21-2014, 05:19 PM
I'm interested in how did you solve that problem, any info? Thanks.

Changing my VPS to another company.

Boxes
02-21-2014, 05:24 PM
Changing my VPS to another company.

More info on that, please? Specs of the machine, set-up of the client/graphics/etc, VPS company..

Feel free to drop me a private message if it suits you.

Thanks for your time Daniel.

Daniel-Sp
02-21-2014, 05:36 PM
More info on that, please? Specs of the machine, set-up of the client/graphics/etc, VPS company..

Feel free to drop me a private message if it suits you.

Thanks for your time Daniel.

It really depends on your needs. Actually I have infra enough to run 20+ clients with quite good FPS. I advise you to check deals on webhostingtalk.com forums and wait for a good deal over there. Hosting companies always comes with great deals over there.

YOu can try to choose a dedicated server too.. As far as I checked for it, I found datashack.com and wholesaleinternet.com as the best cost/benefit provides so far.

Boxes
02-21-2014, 05:44 PM
It really depends on your needs. Actually I have infra enough to run 20+ clients with quite good FPS. I advise you to check deals on webhostingtalk.com forums and wait for a good deal over there. Hosting companies always comes with great deals over there.

YOu can try to choose a dedicated server too.. As far as I checked for it, I found datashack.com and wholesaleinternet.com as the best cost/benefit provides so far.

I only need one wich supports 3-4 bots, 1 dicer and 2-3 normal bots is enough. The one I have doesn't go past the 1-3 fps mark..... making it impossible to dice/bot/anything. The bots don't even open the backpacks.... hehe running a windows 2008 R2, if that changes anything...